Miserere Mei,Deus

I started to write this at the beginning of Lent but only now getting to finish it and send it off. Pope Francis has declared this the year of Mercy and that is what Lent culminating with Easter is all about. God’s Mercy bestowed on us .

Miserere Mei, Deus

We drop some food on the ground and eat it anyway.

We drink from an unclean glass and our mouth feels gritty.

Watching  a movie with gratuitous sex or violence stimulates us,

leaving us feeling unsettled.

Getting frustrated with someone gives momentary self righteousness,

but leaves us feeling empty.

Each of us have are our own sin scenarios,

the places like with the food and the water

we have consumed the impure;

leaving us needing forgiveness.

Have mercy Lord have mercy!

Here I am Lord needing my Lenten dose of cleansing.

As, I contemplate the mercy of the cross

fill me anew with your love till it overflows

in mercy to the world around me.

Diantha Zschoche

Lent 2016

