Why Didn’t I Think Of…?

 

 

 

I was visiting someone and after a conversation musing about philosophical and spiritual topics she said “I always think later of things I could have said.” I told her I understood the feeling and I would see if I could write about it so here goes.

 

Why Didn’t I Think Of…?

 

Later alone reflecting on some past conversations,

second guessing what I said or bemoaning

the brilliant things I could have said

is perhaps mis-judging myself as a failure.

Better my attention was in the moment

as I encountered them and their words,

radical or familiar, humorous or tragic,

that I listened to them and considered their thoughts,

tried to clarify and comprehend.

Rather than, as so often, needing to add my bit

before they have barely stopped talking.

 

Diantha Zschoche 7/14

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

