Let All Nature Sing

It is always interesting how separate thoughts or experiences can weave themselves together in our minds and hearts and inspire us. I was looking at some words I had written in response to a painting I had seen a year ago. At the time it made me reflect on how the mountains and oceans and forest and sky or the petals of a daisy and the plumage of an ostrich ; the magnificent variety and complexity of the natural world always speaks to my heart even when its’ unruliness and power cause havoc it still grabs me. And then I remembered reading a verse a few days ago in my quiet time and looked it up and it was “ Sing out, O heavens and rejoice, O earth, break forth into song, you mountains. For the Lord comforts his people and shows mercy to his afflicted(Isaiah 49:13).” This suddenly connected in my mind with something Jesus said in response to the religious leaders complaining to him about the acclaim the people were giving him as he road into Jerusalem. “If they keep silent, the stones will cry out. (Luke 19:40)” And suddenly these words made sense in a new way.

 

 

Let All Nature Sing

 

The notes belt out,

the words form and storm

the the citadels of the world.

To confound the crafty,

lift up the beaten down,

carry the exhausted,

cheer the good,

inspire the creative,

encourage the defenders

of truth and justice.

So that we might

keep on hoping,

keep on loving,

keep on caring,

keep on creating.

And sometimes because the music

vibrates deep inside of us

and cannot be contained

we too will sing of his goodness and might.

 

Diantha Zschoche 11/13

